Exquisite Corpse

(what was it I was hungry about)

What was it I was hungry about
I think the turkey in the oven, remember?
My friend said nothing is wrong
stay put, it’s a good fighting bar.
The girl walks home alone
in the dark, always beautiful and sad.
And here in the last minutes,
You can never really be sure,
but someone tightens a screw thinner
than an eyelash
and sips the juice of a grapefruit.
I sink down, as if shot, beside the ball
of its butt larded with mother-of-pearl.
There never was such a bright red ladybug
on the blinds.
Of course I will not be here long,
not the way percentages are going now

- MP & SRM, 2013 ©

This is a play off of Exquisite Corpse, which I've participated in on and off.  I first mentioned that my poet friend/best friend and I would be collaborating here, and this is our first "draft". Thoughts? I will revise and repost soon.