The Writing Process, Part 2

While watching through the mall on Saturday, I just found it so weird that parents wait on line to have their children sit in a stranger's lap. This weekend, I sat down to write about the men who dress up as Santa and talk to kids at the mall (previous post). Such a strange idea. We, as a society, put trust in these people when we often don't trust our neighbors.

I know I'm not there yet and that the ending isn't there yet. This is what poets struggle with- when does a poem end, if ever?

I took a long hiatus from writing- about 10 years- where I'd only write once a year when I was at the Poetry and Prose Getaway

And suddenly, after working an "adult" job for a few years, I've realized that I can't ignore writing anymore. It fulfills me. 

 I still don't write everyday. But I do try to listen to my thoughts, and often I have ideas twirling in my mind for weeks before I make the connections. For example, I had been repeating the phrase 'I am always one step from my knees' for weeks before I used it in a poem.

 After reading an essay by Mimi Schwartz, sent from Peter Murphy, I've partnered with one of my best friends where we will choose three to four topics and then the other will decide on the topic. I will pick first and am waiting to hear about my choices! I'm looking forward to this new challenge.

 Tell us: how do you challenge yourself?