Starting Small is Best

Don't we all want to make enough money to just do what we love every day?

As a writer, part of what I've always been told to do is publish. This is one of the first steps to trying to "make it" as a writer, but figuring out how to do this is not easy. 

Before sending out work, my advice is to revise, revise, revise. I will write a post soon about my revision strategies.

Where to send work:

1. Send work to alumni literary journals

2. Send to a friend's or acquaintenance's literary journal .

I've been struggling with how to get my work out for the last few years, and I recently remembered that starting small is best.  So, my goal for this week is to send to my alumni literary journal, Stockpot, and a friend's literary journal, which I will post more info about soon.

Tell us: How do you get your work out?

-SM

image via pinterest