“The Things They Taught Me”

Last night, I listened to a Freakonomics podcast on three professors who influenced journalist, Steven J. Dubner.

I liked the idea of paying reverence to the teachers who have influenced me. 

  • Peter Murphy, retired high school teacher and current professor at Richard Stockton College.

 Murphy was the first to warn me that life gets hard during the mid-twenties, and that it’s important to keep writing.  I also give him credit for teaching me everything I know about poetry and a lot about selflessness.

  • Deb Gussman, Literature Professor at Richard Stockton College.

Professor Gussman was the professor for both my literature thesis and my writing minor seminar class.  Professor Gussman taught me to think outside of the box, especially in writing.  She encouraged, even helped formulate, my thesis on The Robber Bride as a retelling of the fairytale Bluebeard.  

Bluebeard was a scary, scary character 

She also paid me a compliment—which I still haven’t forgotten— when she asked for some of my work to use for future classes. 

  • Laurie Greene, Anthropology professor at Richard Stockton College and owner of Yoga Nine Studio in Smithville, NJ

Although I took an Anthropology class with Professor Greene, and thoroughly enjoyed learning about other cultures, what I really learned from her is the benefit of yoga.  Laurie taught me how to correctly do yoga, made attending class affordable for college students, and with the very Iyengar way, was a perfectionist when it came to poses.  I owe my practice to her. 

  • Cat Doty, middle school English teacher and former Governor’s School teacher. 

Cat taught, and continues to teach me, about having a zest for life. I first met Cat when she was my Governor’s School teacher, and now I get to see her a few times a year.  Aside from being a hilarious illustrator and an amazing image-driven poet, she is one of the best people I’ve ever met.  I consider her family and continue to learn about humility and life in general from her. 

Tell us: who has inspired you?  Did they also inspire you to pursue a similar career to his/her own?

-SM

photo source: google.com