The Seinfeld Method

Three of my Seinfeld Method calendars

While I don't believe in making New Year's resolutions (I prefer to start a new habit and improve when it occurs to me), I have made some goals for myself that coincided with the new year.

I read about the Seinfeld Method on Lifehacker many months ago.  I have thought of it often since I first read about it but my perfectionism got in the way (why would I start on a random Wednesday?  Or on September 21th?). I decided to start when I'd have the chance to cross days off starting from the beginning. 

So on 1/1/13, I began using the Seinfeld Method for four habits that I wanted to improve.  My goals/improvements are:
  • Exercise 3x/week
  • Write 1 page/day
  • No unintentional napping/laying around/procrastinating
  • Eat dinner at the dining room table 3x/week

If you're interested, I keep the first three calendars next to my bed.  The eating dinners at the table calendar is beside the dining room table.  While it isn't attractive, I find their visibility to be a helpful reminder.

So far, I've done really well with exercising, not napping, and eating dinner at the table.  I'm still struggling to find the time to write daily, but I'm ruminating on how to set aside time and be inspired.  I should also mention that I have many other goals, both personally and professionally, but these are ones I wanted to start with.  I chose these goals because they are vices of mine or building blocks to larger goals that I have.

I have found this method to be immensely motivating, I don't want to break the chain!

Tell us: Do you make New Year's resolutions?  Have you ever heard of or tried the Seinfeld Method?

-JCM