Friday Five

This week, a lot of my inspiration has come from everyday people who worked hard to achieve his/her dreams.

1. Rudy

I saw this movie for the first time this week.  What an incredible story about a guy who did what everyone told him he couldn't do.

2. Candle making

wedding favors

At Jen's wedding, she gave handmade soy candles as the favor.  She (and some family members) spent almost two years collecting orphan tea cups.  For the holidays, I am making ball jar candles for co-workers.  I'm excited to work on them this weekend, and to see how they come out. 

3. Anna Bond, founder and creative director of Rifle Paper Co.

Every time I look at her paper products, I start daydreaming.  They are whimsical and clever. Plus, we are both from the lovely state of NJ.  

 source: riflepaperco.com  

I just ordered both of the items pictured above and can't wait for them to come in.

4. Neil Pasricha, blogger and author 

Pasricha started 1000 Awesome Things back when he needed to pay attention to the sometimes small, everday awesome things in his life.

If you have a couple minutes, his post about why he started blogging is truly worth reading.  Pasricha was struggling in life and chose to focus on the positive. Read more here: http://1000awesomethings.com/2010/02/17/567-getting-to-the-light-at-the-end-o...

5. Holiday Season in Red Bank, NJ 

picture courtesy of my roommate

I moved to this sweet town over a year and a half ago.  Seeing the trees lit up each night and every morning when I'm driving to work makes me smile.  Many of the downtown shops even compete in a window display contest!

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Tell us: who and what inspires you? Are you handmaking any gifts this holidays season? 

-SM