Book Review: The Paris Wife

The Paris Wife, by Paula McLain, is about Ernest Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley.  In a review that I read, McLain said that while researching Hemingway, she came across a statement where Hemingway said he would’ve rather died before hurting Hadley. 

Such an interesting, sad statement. 

Hadley and Hemingway (source: google)

This is the slowest I’ve ever read a book (I’m working on two months), but it’s because I am enjoying it.

The language is simple and beautiful.

Here is my one of my favorite parts: “I had just turned twenty-nine, but in a way I felt younger and more carefree than I did my first year at Bryn Mawr, when I couldn’t enjoy the smallest happiness or intimacy.  It was as if I was experiencing a long-delayed coming out, and I was grateful for every minute of it.”

It’s possible, even probable, that one of the reasons that I am enjoying this book so much is because it resonates with me and some changes I am thinking about making in my life.  I, too, feel that comfort with myself, and I’m okay with facing some of my fears.

Once I finish this book, I’ll update you with a more comprehensive review.   

Tell us: what books “speak” to you? How do you face your fears? Any favorite quotes from books?

-SM