An Unlikely Pair

I read this article today.

Jen and I have become running buddies, and though we live in different time zones, we do check in with each other, and I do stay motivated because I want to stay on pace with Jen and her work outs.

We've always followed different sports- Jen rowed crew in high school and I stuck to swimming, which I now get to coach.

And we've always been interested in exercise, though we both used to loathe running.  And then loathing just became a love-hate relationship.  And now it's something I dare say I enjoy.  Sure, I still get shin splints and sometimes feel crickety, but it also makes me feel strong. 

When I was in ATX for Christmas, Jen and I got to run together.  And it was the first time, in all of our 26 years, that we've done that.  Though it was spur of the moment, it was one of my favorite moments of the trip.  Even though we're more like running pen pals, it's these kind of surprises that are the best.