Lunch Break, Red Bank NJ & The Seven Habits Book Club

This past weekend, I volunteered at Lunch Break which I first mentioned in this post.

I first read about Lunch Break after an article was published in the local patch about how they opened their doors right after Hurricane Sandy. I was moved that the Executive Director, Gwen Love, said that, without being able to contact the workers and volunteers, she opened knowing that they'd show. I thought that this was the kind of place where I'd like to donate my time.

So I went yesterday and I'm so so glad I did. It was a cold, rainy Saturday morning and I kind of just wanted to lay in bed.  

I got there and helped in the pantry.  I orginially thought that I'd wanted to volunteer where I felt that I would have a direct impact/contact with the people I was helping, but I realized that I shouldn't look at volunteering as benefiting me first.  I think that Jess Lively's book club on The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People is rubbing off of me. 

Because I shifted my mindset early on in the morning, I felt grateful to be volunteering and was happy to do whatever task they asked of me--like stocking and organizing the pantry, "shopping" which consists of prepping monthly bags of food for pick up, and filing--so that the next time I'm there, I'll understand more of the responsibilities.  

Tell us: Do you volunteer? Has shifting your mindset ever helped you?

-SM

(photo source: google)